Saturday, December 31, 2011

Ringing in the New Year... 2012 here we come!

Okay so it has been a hot minute since I have last posted a blog. So much has happened and now we are approaching a new year!! And also Lady GaGa is on TV as I am typing this!!! This time last year my hubby and I were standing in the middle of the street in Times Square! What an amazing time!!


So now perhaps we should talk resolutions.... Well as many people know my resolution last year was to lose weight! And now a year later and I am 30lbs lighter and feeling great! Though I would still like to get down 15 more lbs I am definitely a lot happier with the person I see in the mirror. Its definitely a work in progress everyday. Jeff's resolution was to ride 5000 miles on his bike! And boy did he complete his goal! So proud of him. I also survived my very first triathelon. So whats the resolution to committ myself to this year..... well our first one together is to find a good church home for us! I am soo excited about this and so ready to get so close to my Lord and savior! I know with this alone 2012 is going to be an amazing year! We are actually going to start with Tara Baptist Church in the morning. Looking forward to hearing God's word!

The next resolution we are making together is to save some MOOLAH!!!


Lastly, though we are not stressing ourself over "trying" we are definitely giving the glory to God and his timing with his plan for when we will expand our family. Some of you know but many of you don't, 2011 was a rough year in the fact that we faced a miscarriage in the middle of the year. And as we are aproaching the beginning of the new year and what would have been a due date I stand in faith when I know God has his perfect plan for Jeff and I. Prayer's for our future family are always appreciated and thanked!

Happy New Year to everyone! Make 2012 the best year yet, place your faith in our Lord and know that he is ALWAYS with you, even when you feel alone! Be the best Wife/husband, daughter/son, friend, and Christain that you can be. Help out those who need help and never take a single second for granted!!

PS.... last resolution... to keep up on this blog! And to get somemore followers!

Friday, February 4, 2011

My embarking stories on a road to a new me!

So from my last post I added into my resolution to become a thinner healthier me! I know a resolution many make at the beginning of every new year but by Feb, many have fallen of the band wagon. However, I have not! If anything I am more motivated than ever! I am down 10lbs from the start of my journey (Which was probably mid way through the second week of Jan.). I am still at the beginning of my journey but I am still very excited! I am not only trying to get down to the weight and size Ive always wanted to be but I am training for Atlanta Iron Girl (Which consists of 1/3 mile swin, 18 mile bike ride, and a 3 mile run). I still have alittle anxiety when I discuss it but I am more than sure I will be prepared for it.

However, Aflac is not sponsoring it this year, Im very proud to be apart of this event with my workplace behind me. I am even more excited about my wonderful peers that I work with that will be doing it with me.... They are (along with my wonderful husband and family, and CANDICE :) my true motivators. Thank you Stacey, Kelly, Katie, Brittany, Kari, Lauri, and more Im sure. We are going to do amazing in may and we totally make 3 East look good! What a wonderful place to work and wonderful people!!!


Now to be alittle honest I think my biggest set back is this.....

You got it..... the good ole bathroom scale! I find myself getting on it atleast once a day!!! Arrrrggh!! Not healthy I know! Im working on this! Im going to try an avoid the scale and only get on it weekly. That way I can stop focusing on the numbers one by one and hopefully just be happy with the way I feel and they way my clothes feel on me! :) Wish me luck!!!

So since Im kind of all over the place I will talk alittle more about Iron Girl... well mainly just my bike :)

This is very much like mine, but the gold is like a baby blue/silver and there is pink fuji writing!  I love it! It is sooo  pretty! Ive only really taken if for one 10 mile bike ride with my husband. However, I know there will be many more. I just have to get over my fear of falling. Crazy I know, but I truly am accident prone! I mean when we went to performance and found the bike... I went on a test ride in the store of my new bike.... a took out  a whole pilet of helments! And got a nice knot on my chin! Talk about embarrassing!!! And to make matters worse we couldnt even get the security tape so we could atleast turn my embarrassment into like $10,000. Talk about bummer!!!

Another journey I have taken is at work. I have started to charge. For those of you who arent in the nursing field, that means Ive been the Charge nurse for some of the shifts I work. Scary at first but I feel like Im slowly getting the hang of it, plus Im really excited that we are getting the Resource role back! That will help the charge nurse role out alot!!! So wish me luck here too!! :)

Soooooo verizon has decided to join the new era by finally getting the iphone!! And I am sooo excited! I just got my email today saying mine was being shipped!!! Dear iphone, please hurry and get here!!! Thanks! Amanda

Well as the rain keep falling the sleepier I get, even though I didnt wake up til after noon today! Ive been a pretty big bum, other than the fact that I did 1.5 hrs of cardio! With mucho thanks to Dr. Oz, Ellen D., and Rachel Ray for keeping me entertained to keep on running!!! You guys rock!!! PS Ellen Id love to be on your show after I reach my goal.... just saying.... incase you read this! :)

Until next time..... keep running :)

Monday, January 3, 2011

Hot minute... I know!

So its been awhile since I have posted a blog! However, better late than never! :) Anyways... where to begin... Well Christmas was awesome as usual! I worked my very first Christmas in 3 and 1/2 years of nursing and it was awesome! The kids and families were amazing and my coworkers we awesome. It made working Christmas so easy. We did tacky sweater day on Christmas Eve and Kelly had the best sweater ever! I mean really someone made this with intentions of it actually being fashionable. (Kelly is in the center... check out that sweater!)

And then on Christmas day... I totally was buddy Elf! (But I currently I cant get the photo to upload!! Arrgh!)

And next comes New Year! And Jeff and I were very fortunate to spend our 2011 New Year Celebration in NYC! Neither one of us have every been there, until now. We had an awesome time and we cant wait to go back when we can have more time to really enjoy New York. However for our very short time there we did many of the very tourist things. The biggest and most humbling was definitely Ground Zero. Though the area is under total contruction now in works for the Freedom Tower (Which is going to be beautiful with the twin tower fountain memorials.) We went to Firestation 10 which was right there at ground zero and saw there beautiful wall memorial. We also visited a small visitor center dedicated to Sept. 11, 2011. What an emotional experience it was. Tears just came as you looked at quotes people said who experienced that horrific day in person. The walls of pictures of people who lost their lives on that sad day. This was Pearl Harbor of my generation. We were attacked and I am soo very thankful for the men and women who defend our country daily! Thank You all!!



Next I know what I have to do.... My new year resolutions:

1. To take and Pass CPHON
2. To save some Moolah!
3. To go out of the Country
4. The most famous of them all: to lose 40 pounds.
5. To do Iron Girl (With motivation from my awesome coworkers and friends:Stacey and Kelly)
6. To be a better person, to grow everyday, to be a better wife, daughter, sister, and friend. And most importantly to grow in my relationship with the Lord! I hope to find a church home jeff and I can call our Church.
7. To stay MOTIVATED all year!!!!

So with all this said.... I think I will head to bed, so perhaps I can get up early before work to make my start on some of this resolutions!

Goodnight!